What to do after C2

Discuss any questions in English. Practise your writing skills.

Модератор: zymbronia

paveltashkinov
Благодарил (а): 318 раз

Сообщение paveltashkinov »

Hi everyone!
Perhaps it may sound sacrilegious to some, but I don't really see C2 as some kind of pinnacle. I reached it a while ago. Since then, I seem to have somewhat improved my writing (which, in hindsight, was egregiously bad at least insofar as exam tasks are concerned). I wouldn't say that my speaking skills advanced as much as they could, but this gap can be patched up pretty swiftly with enough practice.
I feel like my passive knowledge of the language is still up to scratch, but my linguistic output leaves a bit to be desired.
After the exam, I managed to create some sort of a language bubble around me. I have at least six hours of speaking practice weekly. I keep learning some new words and expressions. I read for at least an hour every day. I am an avid writer. I dabble with poetry and short stories (not that you needed to be reminded of it).
Still, I feel frustrated. Although I am believed to have swallowed a thesaurus by many people over there, there's no ground for complacency. I still feel that my linguistic output is inadequate at times. C2 is often erroneously believed to be a be-all-and-end-all by many language learners, but that's far from being the truth. I still feel that there are some lacunae in my language. I still feel challenged. Besides, not only is it difficult to gauge any kind of progress after C2 has been reached; it also feels like you've reached a plateau and now you're crawling rather than leapfrogging towards some new level. And that's fine. I'm going to retake this exam this year or maybe next year, just to keep my language alive and kicking. I put too much time and effort into it, and it would be too profligate of me to lay it all to waste.
What do you think, folks? Your opinions are welcome.
За это сообщение автора paveltashkinov поблагодарил: