CAE Preparation Thread

Discuss any questions in English. Practise your writing skills.

Модератор: zymbronia

IrinaS
Благодарил (а): 152 раза

Сообщение IrinaS »

It is for everyone getting ready for CAE. The aim of this thread is to practise everything related to this exam: vocabulary, phrasal verbs, grammar structures, writing clichés and so on. If you learn something useful for the exam, you can make up sentences including it and write here.
(I do apologise if this idea sounds a bit ambiguous. It’s my first experience writing here).
За это сообщение автора IrinaS поблагодарили (всего 2):
Zlatko_Berrin, paveltashkinov
IrinaS

Сообщение IrinaS »

I am studying the topic of urban and country lifestyles. So my sentences are the next.
Demerits of urban and country lifestyles.
In a big city you can earn five-figures, and still find yourself getting by. Commuting to the work is rather frustrating. To be squashed next to someone who elbows you in an overcrowded subway car is a dismal experience.
Village is an unemployment hotspot nowadays. You can’t thrive in your chosen career here. Everything you do is scrutinized. It’s hard to maintain privacy. Backbreaking work including thankless chores.
Merits
City. It seems that the entire world is at your doorstep. It’s a great place to start up your business. Although office space is not cheap. You can learn tolerance here since compromise is in the very fabric of city living.
Village. You can actually identify constellations =). Going to the cinema can cost single digits. Less income inequality. Most things are within walking distance, taking away the stress of commuting.
(corrections are only welcomed)
IrinaS

Сообщение IrinaS »

Education (clichés)